Ristorante Portovino – Company Christmas Dinner

So my dad’s company decided to have a fancy dinner at the Italian restaurant Ristorante Portovino.
There were a lot of people going, so we had a custom-made menu which included: the antipasto, a choice between 2 main courses (salmon or ossobuco), and dessert (cannoli, chocolate mousse, or crème brûlée) with coffee or tea.

I was surprised at how big the portion of the antipasto was, luckily it was meant to be shared between 4 people. I liked that there were a variety of different things to choose from from the plate, and I particularly enjoyed the smoke salmon and prosciutto and honeydew.

Antipasto - Crispy calamari, smoked salmon, bocconcini, Italian tomatoes, capicollo, salami, prosciutto, grilled Italian sausage, honeydew and cantaloupe, capuccine capers, olives, roasted peppers and marinated eggplants

Antipasto – Crispy calamari, smoked salmon, bocconcini, Italian tomatoes, capicollo, salami, prosciutto, grilled Italian sausage, honeydew and cantaloupe, capuccine capers, olives, roasted peppers and marinated eggplants

Salmone Alla Griglia Mediterraneo - Fresh grilled Atlantic salmon, topped with a mixture of cold pressed olive oil, lemon juice, fresh oregano and garlic.

Salmone Alla Griglia Mediterraneo – Fresh grilled Atlantic salmon, topped with a mixture of cold pressed olive oil, lemon juice, fresh oregano and garlic.

I picked the ossobuco without really knowing what it was. Though I don’t usually order red meat at restaurants (I’m more of a seafood kinda gal), I was glad the I accidentally made this mistake this time. The meat was so tender that it felt like it was melting in my mouth. And as it was my first time eating ossobuco, it was interesting for me to eat the bone marrows with the tiny spoon that came with the dish.

Ossobuco Alla Milanaise - Quebec milk fed veal shank braised in its own juices with tomatoes, fine herbs and white wine, garnished with gremolata.

Ossobuco Alla Milanaise – Quebec milk fed veal shank braised in its own juices with tomatoes, fine herbs and white wine, garnished with gremolata.

The portions of the desserts were quite small, but I was happy to get to get a taste of all 3 different kinds (:

Dessert - cannoli with chocolate chips

Dessert: Cannoli Portovino

Dessert - chocolate mousse

Dessert: Chocolate Mousse

Dessert - Crème brûlée

Dessert: Crème brûlée

We were even each given a box of Lindt chocolate at the end :D

Lindt Gourmet Truffles

Lindt Gourmet Truffles

How was everyone’s Christmas food adventures?
Omnomnom (:

Let me know what you think (: